Every state, has statutes of limitations on different legal claims. What this means is that a time limit is set on how long you have to file your personal injury lawsuit, and how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they may vary from state to state.
The Time Period
The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or “accrues,” like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed. Once the statute of limitations has expired or “run,” you can’t file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime).
Civil Statutes of Limitations in Massachusetts
Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Chapter 260 of the Courts, Judicial Officers and Proceedings in Civil Cases portion of the Massachusetts General Laws or “code.”
Here are some of Massachusetts’ civil statutes of limitations:
- Medical Malpractice 3 years
- Personal Injury 3 years
- Property Damage 3 years
- Wrongful Death 3 years
These laws may change at anytime, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.
The Sooner The Better
If you’ve been injured in any way, or have lost a loved one due to somebody else’s error or negligence, please don’t put off contacting one of our experienced attorneys to make your claim. Some of these cases can stretch out over months or even years, so get the ball rolling sooner than later.